Change the world

Chemistry


Head of Department
Zrtshentu
Assoc. Prof. Zenixole Tshentu
Position: Associate Professor (Chemistry)
Department: Chemistry
Room: 13 02 04
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +2741 504 2074
Fax: +2741 504 4236
Email: zenixole.tshentu@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Academic Staff
Dr Abubak'r Abrahams
Dr Abubak'r Abrahams
Position: Lecturer: Inorganic Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Room: 130202
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 1203
Fax: 27 41 504 4236
Email: Abubakr.Abrahams@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE), PhD (NMMU)
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/AbubakrAbrahams/

Benita Barton
Dr Benita Barton
Position: Senior lecturer
Department: Chemistry
Room: 0301
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 4859
Email: benita.barton@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (Organic Chemistry)

Dr Richard Betz
Dr Richard Betz
Position: Post doctorate research
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2103
Fax: 27 41 504 4236

Ernst Ferg
Prof Ernst Ferg
Position: Associate Professor in Physical Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Room: Building 13 O 03
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 3160
Email: Ernst.Ferg@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: DTech (Chemistry) (P E Technikon)
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/ErnstFerg/

Mr Fanus Gerber
Mr Fanus Gerber
Position: Senior Lecturer: Polymer Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 3460
Email: Fanus.Gerber@nmmu.ac.za

Prof Thomas Gerber
Prof Thomas Gerber
Position: Professor in Inorganic Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Room: 130208
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4285
Fax: 27 41 504 4236
Email: Thomas.Gerber@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc (UPE), MSc (UOFS), PhD (Unisa)
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/TommyGerber/

Dr Driekus Grooff
Dr Driekus Grooff
Position: Lecturer : Physical & Analytical Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 1219
Fax: 27 41 504 1312
Email: Driekus.Grooff@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (Northwest University)

Dr Buyiswa Hlangothi
Dr Buyiswa Hlangothi
Position: Lecturer: Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Room: 0305
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 3270
Email: Buyiswa.Hlangothi2@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (Organic Chemistry)

Dr Percy Hlangothi
Dr Shanganyane Hlangothi
Position: Lecturer in Physical & Polymer Chemistry and Director of the Centre for Rubber Science & Technology
Department: Chemistry
Room: 0005
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2437
Email: Percy.Hlangothi@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (NMMU), PDBA (NMMU)
My site: http://crst.nmmu.ac.za/

Dr Neliswa Mama
Dr Neliswa Mama
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2368
Fax: 27 41 504 4236
Email: Neliswa.Mama@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (NMMU)

Ms Anita Noah
Ms Anita Noah
Position: Lecturer in Analytical Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3093
Fax: 27 41 504 3694
Email: anita.noah@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MTech (Chemistry) P E Technikon)

Adeniyi
Dr Adeniyi Ogunlaja
Position: Lecturer: General & Analytical Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Room: A102
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: +2741 504 9061
Fax: +2741 504 4236
Email: adeniyi.ogunlaja@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc(Hons), MSc (Unilorin), PhD (Rhodes)

Dr Gletwyn Rubidge
Dr Gletwyn Rubidge
Position: Lecturer in Analytical Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3176
Fax: 27 41 504 3694
Email: gletwyn.rubidge@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: DTech (Chemistry) (P E Technikon)
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/GletwynRubidge/

Ms Charmelle Snyders
Ms Charmelle Snyders
Position: MSc student
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email: Charmelle.Snyders2@nmmu.ac.za

Colin Southway
Dr Colin Southway
Position: Lecturer
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email: colin.southway@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc(Hons), PhD (Salford)

Paul Watts
Prof Paul Watts
Position: Research Chair in Microfluidic Bio/Chemical Processing
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Room: A201A
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: +27 41 504 3694
Fax: +27 41 504 9281
Email: Paul.Watts@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc, PhD, CSci, CChem, FRSC

Emeriti
Prof Hans Rohwer
Prof Hans Rohwer
Position: Analytical Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2274
Fax: 27 41 504 4236
Email: hans.rohwer@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (Stell), PhD (UPE)

Prof Peter Loyson
Prof Peter Loyson
Position: Professor in Physical and Analytical Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2147
Email: peter.loyson@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: N Dip (Chem Eng), PhD (UPE)
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/PeterLoyson/

Prof Cedric McCleland
Prof Cedric McCleland
Position: Acting Executive Dean: Faculty of Science
Department: Faculty of Science
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2607
Email: cedric.mccleland@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)

Research Associate
Dr Kathy Garde
Dr Kathy Garde
Phone: 27 41 5042437
Email: Katherine.garde@nmmu.ac.za

Dr Bennie Van Brecht
Dr Bennie Van Brecht
Position: Senior Lecturer in Analytical Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2276
Fax: 27 41 504 4236
Email: Bernardus.VanBrecht@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)

Research Officer
Dr Eric C. Hosten
Dr Eric Hosten
Position: Scientific Officer
Department: Chemistry
Room: 13-0229
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4247
Fax: 27 41 504 1595
Email: Eric.Hosten@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)

Technical Staff
Mr Samuel Bosman
Mr Samuel Bosman
Position: Senior Laboratory Technician
Department: Chemistry
Room: Block A Room 30
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 2148
Fax: 0415041748
Email: Samuel.Bosman@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: ND Analytical Chemistry
My site: North Campus

Pofibi
Pumza Fibi
Department: Faculty of Science
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27834227093
Email: pumzasobekwafibi@gmail.com
Qualifications: MTech Chemistry: Product and Process Development

Mr Aldritt Maclean
Mr Aldritt Maclean
Position: Lecturer: Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Location: Missionvale Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 1516
Fax: +27 41 504 2583
Email: aldritt.maclean@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip Analytical Chem, NHDip Chemistry, NHD Post School Education, MTech Chemistry

Kmuller
Mrs Kina Muller
Position: Lab Technician
Department: Chemistry
Room: 0302
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email: kina.muller@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: M.Sc. Chemistry

Ms Rekha Neglur
Ms Rekha Neglur
Position: Technician (polymer technology)
Department: Chemistry
Room: 13008
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2275
Email: Rekha.Neglur@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc

Mr Francois Olivier
Mr Francois Olivier
Position: Laboratory Technician Instrumental & Co-opted NUTESA BEC member
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3118
Fax: 27 41 504 3694
Email: francois.olivier@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: N Dip Anal Chem, B Tech (Business Admin) (P E Technikon)

Mr Henk Schalekamp
Mr Henk Schalekamp
Position: Laboratory Technician
Department: Chemistry
Room: 13-0224
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2271
Fax: 27 41 504 9053
Email: Henk.Schalekamp@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE)

Mr Jacques Thomas
Mr Jacques Thomas
Position: Lab Technician : Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Room: A35
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 1206
Fax: 27 41 504 2583
Email: jacques.thomas@nmmu.ac.za

Laboratory Assistants
Mr Eric Bashman
Mr Eric Bashman
Position: Laboratory assistant
Department: Chemistry
Room: 13-0303
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2691
Email: EricSiphiwo.Bashman@nmmu.ac.za

Mr Phindile Gaika
Mr Phindile Gaika
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2103
Fax: 27 41 504 4236
Email: Pecks.Gaika@nmmu.ac.za

Ms Bukelwa Mletshe
Ms Bukelwa Mletshe
Position: Lab Assistant
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 4084
Email: Bukelwa.Mletshe@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: Dipl Analytical Chemistry

Mr Joseph Ndimeni
Mr Joseph Ndimeni
Phone: 27 41 504 2380
Fax: 27 41 504 2109
Email: Joseph.Ndimeni@nmmu.ac.za

Pnkonzo
Ms Phelekwa Nkonzo
Position: Laboratory Assistant
Department: Chemistry
Room: A011
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 0822293667
Email: pnkonzo@nmu.ac.z
Qualifications: Diploma in Operations Management

Administrative Staff
Mrs Hazel Kendrick
Mrs Hazel Kendrick
Position: Secretary to Chemistry and HOD
Department: Chemistry
Room: 0206
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2286
Fax: 27 41 504 1728
Email: hazel.kendrick@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BTech Management

Mrs Magda Vosloo
Mrs Magda Vosloo
Position: Secretary
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 041 504 3993
Email: Magda.Vosloo@nmmu.ac.za